Stars of Oceania 2013

Mahalo to our sponsors

The University of Hawaii
2013 Stars of Oceania Dinner
“In every community there is work to be done. In every nation, there are wounds to heal. In every heart there is the power to do it” 
Marianne Williamson
Date: December 3, 2013
Time5:30 p.m. to 8:45 p.m.
Venue: Hale Koa Hotel
Fee: $75 per person
($50 for students) 


Representing Women of and from Micronesia, Melanesia, Polynesia and the State of Hawaii who reaffirm the capacity of women to serve, lead and inspire regionally, nationally and globally through Aloha, Courage, Perseverance, Precedence and Faith

Featuring Distinguished Honorees:
Dr. Sela Panapasa, Rotuma, Fiji
Dr. Diane Ragone, Virginia
Dr. Tin Myaing Thein, Myanmar
Beadie Kanahele Dawson, Hawaii
Vaimasenu'u Zita Martel, Samoa
Susan O'Connor, Montana
Dr. Takiora Ingram, Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Angela Williams, Virginia

  Keynote Speaker: 
       Deputy Director Esther Kia'aina
        Hawaii State Government Department of Land and Natural Resources

To register, click here.
For more details on the event, click here.

About the Stars of Oceania Scholarship Endowment
The Stars of Oceania Scholarship was created in November 2006 through a fundraising effort that included a celebration of the lives of nine outstanding leaders from the Pacific Island region, or Oceania. The scholarship has three purposes: to assist Pacific Islander students who are admitted to a University of Hawaii (UH) campus; to provide tuition assistance for UH students who are involved in course-related internships, research or work that benefits Pacific Island countries; and to provide travel grants for students who are involved in Pacific-related work that benefits Pacific Island countries. The first scholarships were awarded in 2007.
2006 Stars of Oceania Awardees include:
Tihati “Jack” and Cha ThompsonKalo Mataele SoukopLubuw FalanruwNainoa ThompsonMau Piailug
Muliufi Francis HannemannTuione PulotuPulefano Galea’IKupuna AuntieMalia Craver
2007 Scholarship Recipients include:
Ms. Tamara Corrine Heine, Undergraduate Student, Political Science (Republic of the Marshall Islands)
Ms. Patricia Ann Fifita, Doctoral Student, Anthropology (Tonga)
Ms. Kanani N. Kilbey, Master’s Student, Educational Administration

For opportunities to contribute to the Stars of Oceania Scholarship Fund, contact Renata Matcheva at